The name of this town recalls its splendid past as a bishop’s see. It also filled medieval pilgrims with a sense of trepidation as it marked the start of the Oca Mountains, plagued with bandits and highwaymen. Today it has a population of 120. A slight detour when leaving the town brings us to Valdefuentes, where we can admire the remains of what was once an important priory and a 12th century Cistercian hospital.
- Monastery of San Félix de Oca (9th century). Situated one kilometre from the entrance to the town. Today we can see the ruins of the apse of this Mozarabic monastery. It was here that Count Diego Rodríguez Porcelos, founder of the city of Burgos, was buried.

- The ruins of the Church of San Félix have been declared an Asset of Cultural Interest.

- Parish Church of Santiago (late 18th century). The interior houses an interesting Baroque sculpture of the Apostle. Another outstanding feature is the Riojano-style dome that tops the tower.

- Hospital of San Antonio Abad (14th century). Founded by Queen Juana Manuel of Castile in 1380, it conserves a façade (15th and 16th centuries) that opens up onto a courtyard containing 15th century remains. It was a major institution on the Pilgrims’ Route to Santiago and today has been fully restored.

- Shrine of La Virgen de la Oca. Set against a stunning backdrop next to the well traditionally associated with the martyrdom of St Indaletius, a disciple of St James. A popular religious procession is held here on the second Sunday in August.