The etymological origins of this tiny village of just 80 inhabitants date back to the years 970 and 972 when it appears as iuxta rivum de Tolsanctos. A document dated 1084 establishes a direct link with the Pilgrims’ Route to Santiago: ‘(...) in Torsantos (...) iuxta caminum de francos’.
WHAT TO SEE:
- Parish Church of San Esteban. A simple temple situated next to a site where an ancient pilgrims’ hospital once stood.
- Cave-Shrine of Nuestra Señora de la Peña. Semi-excavated on a rocky face just outside the municipality, this shrine boasts an exceptional natural beauty. A small altarpiece inside the shrine features a 12th century image of the Christ Child.