This is the most important town on the Route in Tierra de Campos. Its 2163 inhabitants and the thousands of people who visit this town each year enjoy a historical and artistic heritage that includes three monuments designated Sites of Cultural Interest. It was the residence of monarchs and capital of the famous County of Los Beni Gómez. It is also the hometown of the first Marquis of Santillana and Rabi Dom Sem Tob. In modern times, it has been the birthplace of Professors Fuentes Quintana, Ramón Carande and Carlos Ollero.


- Royal Monastery of Santa Clara (13th century). Founded by two of Saint Clare’s companions, today we can still visit the Neoclassical church and a museum housing several works by Gregorio Fernández.

- Church of Santa María del Camino (12th century). Built in the early Romanesque style, the interior contains allusions to the Tribute of the Hundred Maidens and several excellent Gothic sculptures.

- Church of Santiago (12th century). The façade boasts one of the finest examples of Romanesque sculpture, and features a single image of the Pantocrator and a series of interesting figures on the archivolt. The interior houses the parish museum.

- Royal Monastery of San Zoilo (16th and 17th centuries). This monastery belongs to the European Network of Cluniac Sites and has conserved some of its Romanesque features. The town has another dozen churches and shrines of interest, including that of San Andrés (16th century, known as the Cathedral of Carrión), that of San Julián (with an interesting main altarpiece in Baroque style, like the sides) and the Shrine of Nuestra Señora de Belén, which dates from the end of the 16th century and has a good main altarpiece and a statue of the Madonna to whom the church is dedicated, patron saint of the town. It is located on a small hill and has beautiful views.


In Carrión we must once again choose between two alternative itineraries. The Pilgrims’ Route takes us from Carrión de los Condes to Calzadilla de la Cueza along a path that is well off the N-120 road and therefore will not take us through any towns or villages. The alternative route runs along the N-120 road to Sahagún, passing through Cervatos de la Cueza, San Román de la Cuba, Pozo de Urama, Villada, Pozuelos del Rey and Grajal